Process: House Sketch

The name of this blog is Sketchbook Warrior, and while no heavy weaponry, explosives, or hand-to-hand combat is actually used in the service of this blog, the reality of making time to work in my sketchbooks is a real battle. In particular, it’s a battle for time and logistics. Between family, work, cycling, laundry, laundry, and laundry, I often find myself trying to create a 25th hour in the day just to work in my sketchbooks. Three years ago, I launched the opening salvos in this battle when, on my daily train commutes, I swapped reading the newspaper for picking up my sketchbook and sketching the people around me. Last year, I swapped surfing the web during lunch for going outside to sketch for a few minutes. While the train sketches became the “Metro Sketch” posts – daily exercises in life and figure drawing – the lunchtime sketches, a.k.a. “Lunchlines”, became multi-day studies of the local architecture here in Washington, DC as well as an intensive practices in location and urban sketching.

I’ll be posting a series of posts over the coming weeks showing the process of these sketches. The first is from a sketch of this house. I selected it for various features; the corner rotunda, the intricate door and balcony detailing, and what has turned out to be my favorite detail in local architecture: the roof tiles. The main goal of these sketches is not so much as to get everything right as it is simply to just get everything (and likewise, I really very limited time to do these each day). This particular sketch was done with a cheap gel pen; no pre-sketching with a pencil, and was finished with a collection of aging markers into my small 4″ x 6″ hardcover sketchbook.

LL_26_web

IMG_1677 IMG_1681 IMG_1689 IMG_1726 IMG_1730

5 thoughts on “Process: House Sketch”

  1. Nice inspiring message for a Friday. You have to make time to get the sketch book out and get your inspiration from around you. And that you don’t need all the expensive equipment to do some lovely drawings!

  2. Cool…can’t wait to see more. Looks like you’re not sketching-out roughs before ya ink; just have at it. I like that, and the look it gives. Fight on Bro.

Leave a Reply

