Urban Sketch

Being an urban sketcher is more than just sketching in a city versus the peaceful countryside. Urban sketching also involves dealing with the dynamic and unpredictable urban life itself. Here in Washington, DC, that includes suspicious federal agents. As I was completing this sketch one afternoon after work, I found myself being observed rather closely by an individual, whom started to ask me questions. The questions became a little too personal, to which I eventually objected. Turns out, my interrogator was Steve, claiming to be a federal agent (he showed me a badge), and informed me that he was in the area watching an important individual, whom I assumed worked for the law firm in the building I was sketching. Steve tried to play it off nice and friendly, but I decided to tell him to have a nice day, subsequently ignore him and continuing to sketch. He eventually left me alone, but then again, such is urban sketching in paranoid, pressured, security-freaked Washington, DC.

LL_39_web

4 thoughts on “Urban Sketch”

  1. Great sketch! Really like your urban sketches. Ha, same thing happened to me once, but he was only a local police officer…

  2. Thanks everybody, and yeah, such are the travails of urban sketching in a place like Washington, DC. One of these days, I’m going to need to relax from it all and end up trekking into the quiet woods to sketch trees and nature!

Leave a Reply

