Metro Sketch

Commuter trains make for extremely dynamic environments for sketching. With a rough, moving – yet frequently stopping – train and a continual cast of impromptu and unknowing (hopefully!) life drawing models, control over the sketch is always in a state of compromise. Such was the case here; this person was rather normal in build and gentle in appearance, yet in rushing to get him captured in sketch, the degree of lost control resulted with him looking muscular and menacing. I didn’t draw him perfectly, but I did draw him, and I’ve always felt that sometimes, when art goes “wrong”, all it’s really doing is taking on a life of its own.

sketch_10_100dpi_web

1 thought on “Metro Sketch”

  1. It’s happened to me too, except in a somwhat different way.
    I was freehand sketching something I saw in a videogame magazine when I noticed that what I drew so far kind of looked like the keys on a keyboard. So I changed what I was drawing from fanart to a still life. It looks decent, it could be better, but it’s pretty good.

Leave a Reply

