New Sketchbook and 200th Post

This blog is called Sketchbook Warrior, and though it’s all about sketching, none of it would happen without a sketchbook itself. Over the past two years, pretty much all of my sketching has been done in the small 4″ x 6″ hardcover sketchbooks by Art Alternatives. These great little sketchbooks, which are low on price and high on quality, have been my constant and reliable companions. They’re durable, the paper takes many media and doesn’t let too much bleed through to the subsequent pages, folds flat to allow 8″ x 6″ sketching and easy scanning, and with the money saved versus laying out almost three times as much for a Moleskine, you don’t mind screwing up a page or two (you have 120 pages to work with in these books!)

And since this is the 200th post on Sketchbook Warrior, I wanted to use the occasion to mention these sketchbooks, and to thank the fine and friendly people at Art Alternatives for sending me the gift of a new sketchbook. I also I want to extend a thank you to all of you whom have clicked onto and clicked around on this blog, came back and clicked some more, became followers, commented on posts, and in general participated and interacted with me in this realm of art and sketching and drawing and whatever else we do in these books that begin as blank pages and end up with incredible expressions of ourselves, each other, and the world around us all.

20130520-005659.jpg

5 thoughts on “New Sketchbook and 200th Post”

  1. I enjoy your work and look forward to seeing more.
    I use to use A5 Visual Art Diaries from the local Newsagent ($4.50 AUD), but last Christmas gifted myself a Moleskine Sketchbook. The pages have a yellow tint (for nostalgia I assume) which was odd at first, but apart from the artistic snobbery carrying it around affords me, I really don’t see any benefit for the cost ($30 AUD).
    Will make a note to check out Art Alternatives once my Moleskin is full. Thanks for the tip!

  2. Yay…congrats on your 200th post! I love those little black, hardcover sketchbooks. Those are my go-to, mostly because they are so easy to store on the bookshelf, and they don’t get mangled in my travel bag.

  3. Kudos for your 200th post!
    I’ve always felt that Moleskines are more ‘swank and wank’ for hipsters than serious tools for people who draw relentlessly, seriously, for self-expression and personal satisfaction.

    As a bookbinder, too, I could never get over how cheap and thin the paper is in those things…at AU$30 for a generic-looking book manufactured in China, you just know you’re paying for a status symbol (and a carefully crafted public image.)

    More power to Sketchbook Warrior 😀

Leave a Reply

