Oktoberfest Visual Tasting Notes

I attended an Oktoberfest celebration at the National Harbor in Maryland today. While the goal was to sample some great beers and have a good time, I also wanted to visually record some of the ales and lagers we enjoyed. Unlike slower samplings of craft beers, where I sketch and record everything, for Oktoberfest, I needed to move fast. I had only one glass to work with – a plastic stein, actually – so I drew an icon of it over and over again. Then, as I tried each beer, I represented each with a swatch of color, followed by some quick notes. While there were many great beers, the winner for me was the unassuming Fordham Wisteria Wheat, which presented an almost apple-like nose and a surprisingly bold, yet well-balanced body, and stood out uniquely in a swirling sea of smoky marzens, powerful bocks, and tantalizing pilsners.

Leave a Reply

