Blue Whale Drawing

I grew up on the north shore of Long Island (pronounced “Lawnguyland”), which has a rich history of seafaring, ship building, and whaling. Naturally, these elements factored much into my childhood drawings and imagination. As I grew up, these elements faded from my artwork, but never from my memories. Recently, I’ve been watching Finding Nemo with my young children and a few shows about Arctic life, where whales are a culturally prominent. Hence, I was bound to start drawing whales again. Of course, having not drawn whales in some time, I had to do a little research to remember how to draw blue, right, bowhead, sperm, humpback, belga, and narwhales. Here’s a blue whale I drew today while killing time in a café, my first attempt at baleen, blubber, flukes, and blowholes in a very long time.

3 thoughts on “Blue Whale Drawing”

    1. Thanks. I drew that in a cafe one afternoon. Basically, I was planning to draw some whales to pass the time last time I flew to Israel, but I ended up cramped up and miserable on the transatlantic legs (finally did some drawing, but mostly sleeping on the cushier El Al flights).

Leave a Reply

